Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 01:03 PM   #1
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

So I'm looking towards becoming a liberated man and freeing myself fom the smoke-free confines of my desktop pc. I was looking into the router and card fix for hooking up an older notebook in the man-cave.

Is it really as simple as a cheap router and usb adapter to get this antique notebook into wireless mode? I was checking out the cheapest Linksys router and usb adapters at Wallyworld this morning but thought I should check in before purchasing. All I want to do is access the internet and keep tabs on you guys while enjoying a stick in my converted man-cave in the garage. Would this cheap solution suffice?
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:12 PM   #2
Mugen910
I <3 Huy
 
Mugen910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Location
Location: First Name
Posts: 8,387
Trading: (106)
HUpmann MarineCorps (Served With Honor)
Mugen910 has disabled reputation
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
So I'm looking towards becoming a liberated man and freeing myself fom the smoke-free confines of my desktop pc. I was looking into the router and card fix for hooking up an older notebook in the man-cave.

Is it really as simple as a cheap router and usb adapter to get this antique notebook into wireless mode? I was checking out the cheapest Linksys router and usb adapters at Wallyworld this morning but thought I should check in before purchasing. All I want to do is access the internet and keep tabs on you guys while enjoying a stick in my converted man-cave in the garage. Would this cheap solution suffice?

Yupper...semi-decent USB wifi adapter and a wireless router is all you need..check slickdeals.net there are usually some good tech finds/deals on there. Worst case scenario is that you go to their coupon section and print one out for bestbuy or something.
__________________
I'm not antisocial, I just think people are stupid.
Mugen910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:34 PM   #3
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Thanks, Bao.

All those nasty things everyone else posts about you are obviously untrue.

Hope to see you all from the darkness of the cave in the coming days.
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:37 PM   #4
Mugen910
I <3 Huy
 
Mugen910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Location
Location: First Name
Posts: 8,387
Trading: (106)
HUpmann MarineCorps (Served With Honor)
Mugen910 has disabled reputation
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
Thanks, Bao.

All those nasty things everyone else posts about you are obviously untrue.

Hope to see you all from the darkness of the cave in the coming days.

Well lets not jump to conclusions just yet brother..

Also...depending on where the man cave is from the house..you may be able to get a really long cat5e wire and just hard wire the man cave.
__________________
I'm not antisocial, I just think people are stupid.
Mugen910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:51 PM   #5
Rabidsquirrel
Moderately Confused
 
Rabidsquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 576
Trading: (5)
Rabidsquirrel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
Is it really as simple as a cheap router and usb adapter to get this antique notebook into wireless mode?
Err, it may not be as simple as you think it is. Can you give us the make and model of the notebook?
Rabidsquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:54 PM   #6
dunng
MassHole
 
dunng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Greg
Location: MassHole
Posts: 4,719
Trading: (59)
Cohiba
dunng has disabled reputation
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

The other option is a PCMCIA card that would fit into the slot on the side of your laptop...
__________________
MassHole Banter
dunng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 02:11 PM   #7
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

The laptop is a Compaq Presario 1260.
The desk top is a Presario 6000.
Cable modem.

Hard wiring could be an option. Probably 50-75 feet from the modem to the garage.
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 02:38 PM   #8
AD720
I'm nuts for the place
 
AD720's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Andrew
Location: The City of BOTL-erly Love
Posts: 2,684
Trading: (73)
Partagas
AD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

If the desktop is already hardwired there in no reason to buy a wireless card for it, IMO.

PM me your address, I have an extra PCMCIA wireless card laying around that should work with your laptop. Then all you need to buy is a router.
AD720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 02:44 PM   #9
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

PM sent.

Thanks for the kind offer, Andrew.
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 08:32 AM   #10
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

It's me, the dumb guy again.

So I've got the router and the card (thanks, AD720) installed and have a connection, only to find the laptop has Windows 98 for an operating system. It has Office XP, so I assumed it was an XP opereating system. Not so.

Here's my current dilemna. Internet Explorer 5 only allows for a dial-up connection in the set-up. Is there any upgrade available that runs on Windows 98 that would allow a wi-fi connection? Do I need to upgrade to XP? If so, is there any way I can pull a setup off my other pc which has XP? Any other comments or solutions you smarter IT guys can think of?

I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks,
tp
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 12:01 PM   #11
AD720
I'm nuts for the place
 
AD720's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Andrew
Location: The City of BOTL-erly Love
Posts: 2,684
Trading: (73)
Partagas
AD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
It's me, the dumb guy again.

So I've got the router and the card (thanks, AD720) installed and have a connection, only to find the laptop has Windows 98 for an operating system. It has Office XP, so I assumed it was an XP opereating system. Not so.

Here's my current dilemna. Internet Explorer 5 only allows for a dial-up connection in the set-up. Is there any upgrade available that runs on Windows 98 that would allow a wi-fi connection? Do I need to upgrade to XP? If so, is there any way I can pull a setup off my other pc which has XP? Any other comments or solutions you smarter IT guys can think of?

I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks,
tp

Tim - did you try installing the software that came with the wireless card? Win 98 (as far as I know) does not have built in wireless support but the software that came with the card should do the trick.

Let us know what you come up with.


edit -

try this link for the windows 98 drivers...hopefully the utility is in the same download.

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/wpn511_setup.exe

Last edited by AD720; 12-27-2008 at 12:14 PM.
AD720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 12:30 PM   #12
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Thanks again, Andrew, but the problem has been solved. The problem was Windows 98 (or Internet Explorer 5.0) did not allow a connection without a daial-up. Didn't play well with my cable modem. The card and router worked fine, I just could not connect to the internet. My wife got tired of listening to me sigh everytime everything I tried didn't work, she traded in the old laptop for a new one. I'm in now.
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 01:03 PM   #13
AD720
I'm nuts for the place
 
AD720's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Andrew
Location: The City of BOTL-erly Love
Posts: 2,684
Trading: (73)
Partagas
AD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
Thanks again, Andrew, but the problem has been solved. The problem was Windows 98 (or Internet Explorer 5.0) did not allow a connection without a daial-up. Didn't play well with my cable modem. The card and router worked fine, I just could not connect to the internet. My wife got tired of listening to me sigh everytime everything I tried didn't work, she traded in the old laptop for a new one. I'm in now.
Excellent.
AD720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 04:45 PM   #14
Cigary
Banned
 
Cigary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta/ San Diego
Posts: 1,316
Trading: (0)
Cohiba
Cigary will become famous soon enough
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Now you're finally learning when it comes to getting what we want. Do alot of sighing,,,gritting your teeth,,,cussing and you end up getting a great upgrade. One of the things men need to do to get what they want.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14holestogie View Post
Thanks again, Andrew, but the problem has been solved. The problem was Windows 98 (or Internet Explorer 5.0) did not allow a connection without a daial-up. Didn't play well with my cable modem. The card and router worked fine, I just could not connect to the internet. My wife got tired of listening to me sigh everytime everything I tried didn't work, she traded in the old laptop for a new one. I'm in now.
Cigary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:54 AM   #15
TravelingJ
Just in from the Storm
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: I travel. A lot.
Posts: 42
Trading: (0)
QdO
TravelingJ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Very nice! I'm glad it is up and running. If you find yourself having issues with the wireless, send me a PM. I would be happy to send you a rather long cat5 cable.
TravelingJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 05:22 AM   #16
14holestogie
Serial banter killer
 
14holestogie's Avatar
1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
First Name: Tim
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 4,337
Trading: (52)
Partagas
14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold14holestogie is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I am soooo not IT..seeking wi-fi advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelingJ View Post
Very nice! I'm glad it is up and running. If you find yourself having issues with the wireless, send me a PM. I would be happy to send you a rather long cat5 cable.
Thanks for the offer, but things are running smoothly. Yee Ha.
14holestogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All content is copyrighted jointly by Cigar Asylum and the content provider.