Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Island (The other ones) Reviews

Old 05-21-2010, 11:20 AM   #1
Don Fernando
Postwhore

First Name: Ferdinand
Trading: (29)
Army (Retired)
Don Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud ofDon Fernando has much to be proud of
Default Gurkha Beast

Back in the day when the ocean was still a jungle and I was a newbie, I took part in the Newbie Sampler Trade and got paired up with Massphatness. He send me a great sampler and amongst them there were a Gurkha Beauty and a Gurkha Beast. Due to my previous experiences with Gurkha I always skipped those whenever I was browsing my collection, looking for something to smoke, but I could not pass them anymore, I owe it to Vin to smoke these and as always write a review, so I lit up the Gurkha Beast.

The cigar 6x52 looks awesome, I like the Gurkha band and combined with the extra black & silver "BEAST" band and the cedar the looks are great. The wrapper is dark, smooth and oily. Once I release the cigar from the cellophane wrapper I smell a mild acidic straw. The construction feels good but the predraw is a bit on the loose side. The predraw leaves a mild peppery raisin flavor on the palate.

I can taste some wood with a hint of chocolate. The flavors are mild. After an inch I also get some straw and the flavors grow a bit in strength. The flavors are a bit musty.

Halfway the chocolate gets a bit stronger and becomes the main flavor. The strength of the flavors is now medium. After ⅔ the wood is the main flavor again and less musty. The chocolate is now a supporting flavor. After that the cigar gets more herbal.