Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 04-07-2011, 08:50 AM   #1
AD720
I'm nuts for the place

First Name: Andrew
Trading: (73)
Partagas
AD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the roughAD720 is a jewel in the rough
Default Real Estate - Can we talk short-sales?

I could use some advice on buying a "short-sale" property...pitfalls, things to watch for, etc?

I already have heard that when making an offer we will need to put up some earnest money.

Anyone deal with short-sales?
Old 04-07-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
jmsremax
Yet another Masshole

First Name: Jon
Trading: (19)
jmsremax will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Real Estate - Can we talk short-sales?

I did when I was a real estate agent. Short sales can be diamonds in the rough or a complete disaster.

First thing to remember is a short sale is sold as is. Now that doesn't mean the property is in ruins, but buyer beware. Shorts sales are the last attempt to sell the property before foreclosure so it's in the best interest for both the bank and the home owners to sell it.

One of the things you will want to ask is if you are responsible for any of late payments from the current owners (and/or interest) or back taxes on the property if you were purchasing the home. You NEED to get a reputable home inspector, possibly someone who specializes in foreclosures/SS (I am sure they are out there).