Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Cigar Discussion > All Cigar Discussion

Old 06-09-2009, 10:37 PM   #1
big a
Feeling at Home

First Name: Andrew
Trading: (42)
RyJ
big a will become famous soon enough
Default How do you buy/pick the cigars you get?

When buying cigars do you often buy them in singles, 5ers, or boxes? Why? And when you do buy cigars do you go for something different and new or just stick to what you know?

I'll start. Lately I have been buying a lot of samplers from BOTL. Since I am still kind of new to cigar smoking I have been buying random samplers. I will then smoking the randoms and keeping a list of the sticks I want to try again. After I smoke about 10-20 randoms I pick my favorite sticks and pick up a 5er or more of each. All of this got me wondering if less experienced smokers do the same and more experienced smokers buy in higher quantities.
Old 06-10-2009, 01:23 AM   #2
shadow king
Fresh outta Ad Seg

First Name: Matt
Trading: (19)
Quintero
shadow king is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you buy/pick the cigars you get?

For me a lot of depends on the price. If there's a deal going on somewhere thats just too good to pass up, I'll jump on it unless its a known dog rocket. In the month leading up to the SCHIP tax I went a bit overboard in buying everything in sight. Mostly samplers and a few boxes. Luckily everything I bought was a homerun. Nothing is worse though than buying a blind box just because it was 50% off and then find out you don't like them.

I am like you though, if I see a brand I want to try that I've heard good things about I go the sampler route. If it passes my liking then comes the 5 pack. I try to stay away from buying a whole box anymore because I simply can't smoke them all fast enough. I prefer my NC's with no more than 2 years on them unless its an Opus or Padron. Those seem to get better with age.
shadow king is offline   Reply With Quote