Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 11-10-2013, 07:28 PM   #1
JenksAnejo
Thunder Up

First Name: Jarrod
Trading: (51)
Partagas
JenksAnejo has a spectacular aura aboutJenksAnejo has a spectacular aura about
Default Table Saw advice

Hola fellas,

I'm looking into buying a table saw for laminate floor cuts, woodworking and other DIY stuff around the house. I imagine I will be using these quite a bit so I'm not afraid to spend the money on something durable.

As far as the table saws go I've narrowed it down to 2 (I think )

Dewalt : DW745

Porter Cale: PCB220TS

The Porter Cable has great ratings/reviews and has a better price tag then the Dewalt. The PC is $300 and it also includes a stand with wheels. I have to have something that is mobile. I have no experience with Porter Cable tools however.

Dewalt: Has better ratings than the PC but is $370 without a stand and $500 with the stand. All of my work tools are Dewalt and have never had any problems.

So my question is.. Is the Dewalt worth the extra $200 or does anyone have experience with either one? I'm also up for suggestions for any others.

Thanks in advance for any help!

*Im also buying a miter saw as well. Haven't looked into those just yet.. Suggestions are welcome.
JenksAnejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:52 PM   #2
Simple1
Livin' the dream

First Name: Brian
Trading: (14)
ERdM
Simple1 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Table Saw advice

Both are very nice saws. Porter Cable makes excellent corded tools, so I wouldn't hesitate to get that. If you choose to go with the Dewalt, I would first try using it without the stand. Often, I'll use one of the cheap ($99) Delta saws. By placing it on a piece of 2" Dow board, it takes a lot of the vibration out and makes it cut pretty well.

Either of those saws are going to be limited in power, so they are just going to cut a little slower.

Good Luck