Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Island (The other ones) Reviews

Old 12-20-2009, 12:21 AM   #1
strider

Default Romea y Julietta Reserva Real "Churchhill"

Disclaimer: I am very very new to cigars. This review is more for me then anything.

Time: 11ish PM
Drink: Biere Du Boucanier (Belgium Red Ale)

Initial Impressions: Well constructed. No soft spots, not to hard, not to soft, smooth wrapper with a few "stitch marks" but a good lookign stick. Pre-light draw pretty bland. Not gonna try to put a name to the flavors.

Burn and pull: The pull was very good through out. Ample smoke and nice draw as long as I had a good foot. Very good burn for most of the stick. A few touch ups during the first 2/3's that probably weren't nessesary but improved my enjoyment of the smoke. Initially razor but developed a few issues with one side burning quicker. Last 2/3's the stick started give me some problems with staying lite. More frequent draws and a few hits with the flame kept it going.

Flavor: The first few pulls as I have come to expect from any cigar had a bit of pepper (heat). After that smoothed into a very creamy smoke. Best word I can come up to describe it. Nothing big or strong but a nice mild cream. Left some sweetness on the lips and there were undercurrents in the flavor but my experience doesn't let me put a name to them. On the 2nd third a very very mild spice entered the mix on the back of throat and nostrals. The final third brought a strengthening of what I'm gonna call a very light leather but dont' qoute me on that. Best name I could come up with for it. Also very light pepper seemed to fade. Near the band the cigar started to taste a little hot and I decided was time to end the smoke.

Overall impressions: A nice mild smoke for the right time. Nothing huge going on but certainly wouldn't mind having a few in my humidor for when the mood for a mild smoke strikes me. Will not be a regular for me though.