Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Cigar Discussion > All Cigar Discussion

Old 01-28-2016, 10:10 AM   #1
Rmufb71
Just in from the Storm

First Name: Joel
Trading: (1)
Rmufb71 is on a distinguished road
Question Black spots on hartflet beads. HELP!!#

Hey I'm hoping some one can help me. I had my beads in cheese cloth bags. I opened my humidor to see blackish green spots on the bags. I took them put immediately. I emptied the bags into bowls. And saw a good many of the beads had the spots on them too.... can I save them? Should I be worried about my cigars? Can I do anything to protect them? Any advice is appreciated.
Rmufb71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 10:42 AM   #2
srduggins
Feeling at Home

First Name: steve
Trading: (37)
LGC
srduggins will become famous soon enoughsrduggins will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Black spots on hartflet beads. HELP!!#

I'm not an expert, but I'd say it's time to get new beads. Perhaps you kept them too moist. I did that since I didn't want to keep rehumidifying them as often and that happened to me too. I wouldn't worry about the cigars in your humidor. I do know what not to do. Don't try cleaning the beads with rubbing alcohol and reusing them. That will change the humidifying %. You might be able to do that and recalibrate them in salt or something, but I'd just buy some new beads.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:12 AM   #3
icehog3
Admiral Douchebag

First Name: Tom
Trading: (61)
HUpmann
icehog3 has disabled reputation

I agree with Steve, I'd pitch those. Sounds like mold.

Thanks Dave, Julian, James, Kelly, Peter, Gerry, Dave, Mo, Frank, Týr and Mr. Mark!
icehog3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 12:18 PM   #4
pnoon
YNWA

First Name: Peter
Trading: (20)
RA
pnoon has disabled reputation

Quote:
Originally Posted by icehog3 View Post
I agree with Steve, I'd pitch those. Sounds like mold.
My thoughts exactly.
Old 01-28-2016, 12:29 PM   #5
Rmufb71