Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Pipe Forum > Discussion

Old 01-23-2011, 12:13 AM   #1
TheRuckus13

Default Pipe cleaning, is it really that straight forward?

I've been smoking pipes now I think for about two months give or take a couple weeks. At first I assumed maintenance was very straight forward, but the more I read and smoke, the more I wonder how to actually treat my new pipes. My biggest problem is managing cake. How do you guys clear all your doddle out without wiping the ash away that you just shook around to coat your bowl? How many smokes should I enjoy in that pipe before I DO clean that bowl? How many smokes should I enjoy before I get some grain alcohol or brown liquor of some sort and clean the pipe good? Everywhere I go the numbers are different...can anyone who has managed many pipes over the years just give a straight forward answer so I can stop worrying about maintenance. Thank you in advanced!
Old 01-23-2011, 06:12 AM   #2
Emjaysmash
The Hebrew Hammer

First Name: M.J.
Trading: (76)
Emjaysmash is a splendid one to beholdEmjaysmash is a splendid one to beholdEmjaysmash is a splendid one to beholdEmjaysmash is a splendid one to beholdEmjaysmash is a splendid one to beholdEmjaysmash is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Pipe cleaning, is it really that straight forward?

First let me preface this by saying that I am by no means an expert or even close to an expert.
For cleaning, after every bowl I run a pipe cleaner through the shank and stem, and store my pipes with a pipe cleaner in them. I do this to absorb moisture.

I only alcohol clean when my pipe turns sour and gets a really funky taste.

I usually can get the dottle out of my pipe after it sits and the moisture has been absorbed by the pipe cleaner or cake. I use part of my Czech tool or just turn the pipe upside down and blow through it.

Hope that helps.
Old 01-23-2011, 07:27 AM   #3
Commander Quan
Feeling at Home