Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 06-20-2009, 09:00 PM   #1
shortbus
Still Watching My Back

Trading: (0)
shortbus is on a distinguished road
Default modular homes?

Has anyone had any experience with modular homes? My wife and I are looking into having one built. Modular home builders say the product and end result are superior to stick-built homes. Of course, builders of traditional homes say modulars are junk. Modular owners, share your thoughts.
Old 06-20-2009, 10:16 PM   #2
adampc22

Default Re: modular homes?

am i right in thinking a modular home is what i would call a pre fab home ? well i am a builder joiner to be procise so i dont like them
Old 06-20-2009, 10:34 PM   #3
JaKaacH
ROCK Chalk JAYHAWK K U

First Name: Jeff
Trading: (32)
RA
JaKaacH has disabled reputation

They are just like other manufactured "products". There are good companies that make great houses, and there are some that look to cut corners every chance they can.
Like any product research, research, and research.
If you do go with a modular, try to find a good one that is built close to where want to set it up. The fewer miles in transit the better.

I have seen several that if you did not know it was a modular, you could not tell the difference between it and a "stick built".
Old 06-20-2009, 11:31 PM   #4
shortbus
Still Watching My Back

Quote:
Originally Posted by adampc22 View Post
am i right in thinking a modular home is what i would call a pre fab home ? well i am a builder joiner to be procise so i dont like them
You can call it pre fab, just don'e call it a trailer. Do you not like them due to the quality, or because assembly line built products take work away from traditional craftsmen?
Old 06-20-2009, 11:36 PM   #5
adampc22

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortbus View Post