Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 12-01-2008, 07:58 AM   #1
Redbaron
Blank

Trading: (1)
HdM
Redbaron is on a distinguished road
Default The feeling after completeing a project...

Anyone else complete a project recently?

I've been helping my buddy build a 1986 Buick T-type from the ground up and we finally got it running last night. I'm not really good with describing feelings (as told numerous times by wife, lol), but how I felt on the drive home last night was well..... let me tell story first.

The car started out as... less then perfect. The motor was tuned and went 10.80 @12x in 1/4 mile, but then blew up. 32lbs of boost will do that to a motor.

So the car came off the road and the journey began. Body straightened, painted, 8pt cage went in, complete new interior column shift moved to floor. The motor came out went to machine shop, then boxes and boxes and boxes of new parts started coming in. For those that don't know the motor is a 3.8l turbo 6cyl (roughly 231 ci). We got the bare block back late last week, and have been spending nights putting it together. For me it was the first time starting at the bare block, I mean no crank, no pistons etc.
Engine was completed thurs late at night and went in fri night, last night turbo went on, exhaust hooked up, various odds and ends tightened up.

We hooked the scan tool up, and car started 2nd crank. Woohoo! There was a lil squeaking from water pump, but we fixed that and the car purred. It was alot quieter then I was expecting with a roller rocker cam, but thats ok.

Gotta finish a few odds and ends lil interior stuff, put hood on, buff car out, but all in all the hardest part is over. Car should be on road next weekend and we're hoping for a low 10/high 9 sec pass at track.