Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 02-24-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
RevSmoke
Ain't Never Gonna Leave

First Name: Todd
Trading: (51)
HUpmann
RevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant futureRevSmoke has a brilliant future
Default Taxes question

As a pastor, I am self-employed and so I pay all my own taxes, nothing is withheld. I also pay both halves of Social Security. So, I know just how much my total tax bill costs. It is kind of ovewhelming to sit back and see what you pay.

Anyway, there have been a couple people lately (on this board, another, and in my live conversations) who have talked about the large income tax returns they will soon be receiving.

My question is, why?

Here's my thinking. I'd like to hear if I am wrong, of if I do understand things correctly. You see, I'd rather pay in on April 15, than receive a return of a $1,000 or more dollars. If I do it correctly, I am a couple hundred $$ one way or the others.

Anyway, my thinking is this. It is my money - whether I have it on payday or get it back later. If I get a rebate, it isn't really a rebate - it is simply returning to me what is already mine.

What is more, if I come up short and the IRS discovers that I missed a payment or some such, I am charged incredible interest on the money that I owe.

Yet, when the government uses my $$ all year, and at the end of the year gives me my money back, how come they don't pay me any interest?