Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Cigar Discussion > All Cigar Discussion

Old 11-11-2009, 08:33 PM   #1
Chingo

Default Anyone else have problems with Taboo cigars?

I eagerly got the 10 stick sampler as one of my first purchases when I got home a few months ago to give them a try. I tried the HSG a few weeks ago and it was very problematic - couldn't get it to light or stay lit once lit. I asked about it in the Beginner's Thread and couldn't pinpoint a cause, so I chalked it up to an isolated bad stick.

I decided to give the Dominican Maduro a spin tonight - had almost the exact same problems. Couldn't get it to light. When I finally did, it would not stay light. It ended up being a pretty frustrating cycle of relighting, purging, constantly drawing to keep it lit, rinse and repeat. As you can imagine, wasn't a very pleasant experience .

My humidor is (and has been) about 67% RH. I'm no pro, but even with my imperfect lighting technique I've smoked a few sticks from the same humidor between the two bad Taboo sticks with no problems. So what do you guys think? Are they finnicky cigars that don't put up with beginners? Or could I have gotten a cruddy batch?
Old 11-11-2009, 08:39 PM   #2
loki
H.A.T.E

Trading: (7)
Partagas
loki will become famous soon enoughloki will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Anyone else have problems with Taboo cigars?

anything could be possible. I've smoked probably 20 different cigars from them and while i don't remember the exact experience, I'd say they are no more or less prone to touch up then any other cigar i've enjoyed. How long have they been in your humidor? were the cigars dry when you got them?

I'll tell ya one thing, the costa rician maduro they have will take a giant rubber ball (the kind we all had as kids and you got at KMart) square to the foot while being smoked with only light wrapper damage after
loki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 08:49 PM   #3
Chingo