Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Island (The other ones) Reviews

Old 07-21-2010, 09:50 AM   #1
jonumberone
Raw Dog

First Name: Dom
Trading: (62)
RA
jonumberone has disabled reputation
Default Cortez Cigars salomon

Cortez Cigars Salomon or Figurado newb review.
This is my first attempt at a review. I will do my best do describe what I’m experiencing, even if I don’t know what it is. If however you do know, please clue me in. Also, if you feel this was a complete waste of time, both mine and yours, let me know as well. Sorry for pic quality, I left my camera home and had to use my laptop’s web cam.

Date: 7/19
Maker: Cortez Cigars
Vitola: Salomon or Figurado (I don’t know the difference between the 2)
Length: 7
Ring gauge: 58
Wrapper: Best guess Brazilian Maduro
Filler: Again a guess Dominican
Price: $7
Smoking location: My booth at work
Beverage: Water – Iced tea – Water
Smoke time: 3Hrs 15 Min
The box they were in had a sign, Braz - Dom, hence my guesses.

Initial thoughts.

As soon as I purchased this cigar, I wanted to smoke it. It immediately went to #1 on my death by fire list. The cigar is smooth and tight. The wrapper is very dark with an almost purplish hue. The only thing in my humidor to compare it with is a Padilla Obsidian, and I would say the Cortez is darker. The veins are very visible to the eye, though hardly noticeable to the touch. The way the wrapper covers the cigar is beautiful. The best way I can describe it is to say the wrapper looks like it was applied, and then shrunk to the perfect size with a hairdryer.

Pre-Light