Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Misc > General Discussion

Old 11-22-2009, 04:27 PM   #1
MTB996
Adjusting to the Life

Trading: (1)
Partagas
MTB996 is on a distinguished road
Default Any AR15 experts out there

I am thinking about either a S&W MP15OR (optics ready) or a CMMG M4 Carbine. They are both about the same price at CDNN around $799. I am not sure I want a pure scoped AR, so I would probably get a carry handle and site for S&W.

Any opinions on either brand for reliability and/or performance? I am not an expert at all in ARs.

thanks!
MTB996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 04:44 PM   #2
dogface_313

Default Re: Any AR15 experts out there

Not sure if I would call myself an expert at all, but I did build my AR and carry one every day for work.

check this spreadsheet out, it has all the technical data you could need to make a decision.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?k...=5&output=html

Depending upon what you were going to use it for, and what type(grain) ammo you are going to fire I would say go with the MP15. The only real drawback of this rifle vs. the other is that it has a 1 in 9" twist rate. the slower twist rate means it won't be able to stabilize heavy grain rounds. However if you aren't planing on shooting heavy grain rounds and are getting it for plinking purposes go with the MP15. as you can see from the chart it has better quality assurance and manufacturing processes. any questions about anything on that chart let me know.
Old 11-22-2009, 04:45 PM   #3
dogface_313

Oh yeah, chart is towards the bottom. Blue highlight on the chart for the most part = good. don't worry if something says mil spec either, mil spec isn't always best considering mil spec is usually lowest bidder.
Old 11-22-2009, 05:10 PM   #4
bigswol2
Feeling at Home

Trading: (7)
bigswol2 will become famous soon enoughbigswol2 will become famous soon enough