Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Cigar Discussion > All Cigar Discussion

Old 01-29-2012, 04:57 PM   #1
magicallylicious

Default Humidity level too low?

Well, this is my first post ever on a forum of any kind. And I'm a complete noob on cigars! I have a cheap Thompson humidor with a digital hygrometer and a 2 oz jar of CI international crystal. I seasoned the humidor with distilled water and a sponge and left it there over night, salt tested the hygrometer, stuck the jar in. It was at 68, then I added 10 cigars and for the past 3 days its reading in the low 60's. Why is this? I had left the jar out for a few months and it was dry, could this be the problem? thanks!
Old 01-29-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
icehog3
Admiral Douchebag

First Name: Tom
Trading: (60)
HUpmann
icehog3 has disabled reputation
Default Re: Humidity level too low?

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicallylicious View Post
Well, this is my first post ever on a forum of any kind. And I'm a complete noob on cigars! I have a cheap Thompson humidor with a digital hygrometer and a 2 oz jar of CI international crystal. I seasoned the humidor with distilled water and a sponge and left it there over night, salt tested the hygrometer, stuck the jar in. It was at 68, then I added 10 cigars and for the past 3 days its reading in the low 60's. Why is this? I had left the jar out for a few months and it was dry, could this be the problem? thanks!
I am not a big fan of the crystal, a good first step would be to buy some shilala beads from member CigarNut (Michael).

When you add cigars, they are often at a lower RH than the humidor, and will temporarily bring your RH down. Might take a few days to level off, but the low 60s will not harm your cigars (I store mine at 62% or so full time).

Thanks Dave, Julian, James, Kelly, Peter, Gerry, Dave, Mo, Frank, Týr and Mr. Mark!
icehog3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
Ncpsycho
Newly obsessed