Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Pipe Forum > Discussion

Old 02-04-2011, 08:06 PM   #1
nayslayer
Still Watching My Back

First Name: Larry
Trading: (0)
nayslayer is on a distinguished road
Default Ceramic Pipes

I have little to no knowledge on pipes but a friend of mine has these from his grandfather. He says they are ceramic. What are some of the qualities or things you should look for in these. Any thoughts? Thanks for your time

nayslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 08:33 PM   #2
Tyler

Default Re: Ceramic Pipes

Hm I have never seen a ceramic pipe that looked like that. Most look like clay pipes, atleast the ones I have seen. It looks like the one on the right is briar but I can't tell from the size of the picture. It also looks to me like the left one is either a Paronelli pipe or a cheap tobacco pipe. Alot of times the cheaper tobacco pipe companies, like the ones from China, will put designs on their pipes to try to sell them because they are made out of some other material than briar. Paronelli though chooses to do designs on their pipes and they are of good quality. It looks like yours has the two bands on the top so I would guess it is Paronelli but I can't tell for sure from the photo.

Paronelli

Cheap Sanda Pipe worth $2

Not to sound like a broken record but they all come in different sizes and shapes though so it is hard to tell from that photo. If you have an up close photo of any markings or lettering I could tell you exactly what you have. Thanks for posting Larry.
Old 02-04-2011, 08:39 PM   #3
nayslayer
Still Watching My Back

Ok, thanks, i'll try to get better pictures. Are there any markings I could ask him to look for?
Old 02-04-2011, 08:49 PM   #4
Tyler

Quote:
Originally Posted by nayslayer View Post
Ok, thanks, i'll try to get better pictures. Are there any markings I could ask him to look for?