Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Cigar Forums > Accessory Discussion / Reviews

Old 09-24-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
T. Douglas Hall
Man about town

First Name: Taylor
Trading: (0)
HUpmann
T. Douglas Hall is on a distinguished road
Default DIY Humi Project

Hi All!

Due to my recent filing of my return on the Idiot Tax (ie- I won big on the lotto), I finally have the funds to begin a project that I have had in mind for a while. I want to build my own end table-style humidor (yes, build it myself, not purchase one, I like the idea of the DIY ethic). My idea, at least in my mind, is to have something kinda space age looking while having space for a few boxes and many individual cigars. On the top of the humi, I want to either polyurethane or plexiglass over my collection of cigar bands. As I am not a carpenter by trade, I have been doing some research on woodworking and, specifically, building a humidor, but most of what I have found is very vague or seemingly from an unreliable source. So my question to the community is has anyone else done a project like this, and, if so, do you have any advice on how to proceed with this project or any things to avoid? I know that I'll need at least 3/4" of spanish cedar for the inside of the box, but I am unsure of what type of wood to use for the outside to achieve that space age-y look, what type of electronic humidification works best and any other recommendations you may have.

Thank you all in advance for your support and I will certainly post pictures and my advice once I begin this massive undertaking
Old 09-25-2012, 05:02 AM   #2
elderboy02
Lets Go Buckeyes!

First Name: Dan
Trading: (133)
Bolivar
elderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud ofelderboy02 has much to be proud of
Default Re: DIY Humi Project