Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Coffee & Tea Forum > Coffee Discussion

Old 10-19-2008, 05:42 PM   #1
spincycle

Default Got some beans from the Dominican. Now what?

I'm ready to do this right, as long as I can keep it relatively inexpensive!

I'm thinking of getting a french press, and some sort of coffee grinder. I'm leaning towards the Bodum brand as there are lots of positive reviews. I've never used a french press before, so if any one has instructional links that would be appreciated.

How about the grinder? I have a spinny $20 Hamilton Beach thing at home. Will that do for a coarse grind?

Thanks for entertaining the n00bie!

edit: I forgot to mention the coffee! It's some popular Dominican brand that they serve at all the resorts there. So yummy to my untrained pallet!

Cheers,
spin

Last edited by spincycle; 10-19-2008 at 05:45 PM.
Old 10-19-2008, 06:06 PM   #2
Mister Moo
I barely grok the obvious

First Name: Dan
Trading: (3)
HUpmann Army (Served With Honor)
Mister Moo is a jewel in the roughMister Moo is a jewel in the roughMister Moo is a jewel in the roughMister Moo is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Got some beans from the Dominican. Now what?

Bodum is the cat-daddy of presses; pay attention to buy a size that fits your needs.

You'll need something to boil water; a pot is fine but stovetop or electric kettle are nice. Add water to grounds, stirring, about 20-seconds after it has stopped boiling. Try 1T of coarse ground per 4oz of water to start. Steep four minutes before pressing.