Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum  

Go Back   Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum > Non Cigar Specialty Forums > Wine, Beer, and Spirits

Old 11-24-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
kayaker

Default Scotch Q&A

Just thought I would start a thread where people can ask and answer questions and this great beverage, and share our knowledge.

I am by no means an expert, but I have learned a couple of things in the last couple of years and I like sharing my interest with others.

Please feel free to ask anything you want to know. Can't promise I will be able to answer, but hopefully someone else will chime in.

Please feel free to answer any questions, share you knowledge and experiences.

Let's have some fun (and a dram or two).
Old 11-24-2008, 07:15 PM   #2
kayaker

Default Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Thought I would start by giving you my definition/explanation about SMSW. I do it backwards:

Whisky = fermented grain (corn, rye, barley…) which is then distilled, usually aged in oak barrels (eg. rye, malt, bourbon).

Scotch = Whisky from Scotland only, has to be aged 3 years min., and must be distilled, aged, bottled in Scotland.

Malt = barley that has been soaked and allowed to germinate to maximize sugars, then dried, crushed and made into beer, which is then distilled.

Single = whisky that comes from one distillery only.

So SMSW is a Scotch whisky made from malted barley and from a single distillery.

Is that as clear as mud?
Old 11-24-2008, 07:15 PM   #3
mikeyj23
Feeling at Home

First Name: Michael
Trading: (10)
HUpmann
mikeyj23 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Scotch Q&A

Is a dram a specified amount, just "a pour" or both? I know a "shot" can be 1.5oz, or just a term. What's a dram?
Posted via Mobile Device
mikeyj23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
kayaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyj23 View Post
Is a dram a specified amount, just "a pour" or both? I know a "shot" can be 1.5oz, or just a term. What's a dram?
Posted via Mobile Device