Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   It’s Been a Few Years (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=76802)

gravel 12-11-2021 11:07 AM

It’s Been a Few Years

Hello brothers!

I never got truly established here before some significant work/life changes occurred. I see the last post I made was in May 2015. At that time I had just enrolled full time in seminary (graduated with a M.Div in August 2018). I figured with evenings free and a full day of instruction on Mondays, I could knock it out in a few years. What I didn’t anticipate was the church where I was an executive pastor also asked me to reach back into my far past and take on the youth group too. For a few years I had both roles (full time), school (full time), and a family and all the events that occur with that. Needless to say, I had very thin margins.

Overtime I was able to move a considerable amount off my plate as my church didn’t want me to burnout. In a show of generosity, the leadership gave me a paid sabbatical starting this October and the church whole heartedly approved.

Over the years I’ve been absent, I’ve had opportunity to reach into my tupperdor and light up a cigar provided in an embarrassingly generous newb bomb I received here. When I have, I thought of this place fondly.

I’ll be around going forward. I’m still astonished by the crazy amount of information around here!

Geoff

markem 12-11-2021 11:11 AM

Re: It’s Been a Few Years

Hi Geoff! Welcome back. Where are you in Oregon? I’m Beaverton.

gravel 12-11-2021 11:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by markem (Post 2226497)
Hi Geoff! Welcome back. Where are you in Oregon? I’m Beaverton.

Not too far from you. I live in Salem.

bruceolee 12-11-2021 11:17 AM