Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Wine, Beer, and Spirits (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Opinion on great beers (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=22307)

Poronico 09-29-2009 02:04 PM

Opinion on great beers

I am new to the game of enjoying great beer, I am a huge fan of Dark beers and the abbey ales. Personally I have yet to find a smoked porter I didnt enjoy, also love a good stout. The last brew I enjoyed was a Treppist Abbey Ale and it was amazing! So I want your insight on what my next purchase should be or what you think I shouldn't miss out on down my adventurous road. :D

icehog3 09-29-2009 02:09 PM

Re: Opinion on great beers

Being in the Northwest I assume you've tried Anchor Steam Porter, Jesse?

Jbailey 09-29-2009 02:11 PM

I would try a bunch of different Porters and Imperials. Not to familiar with beers in your area but I will keep my eyes out.

Red 09-29-2009 02:12 PM

have you tried any IPA's yet ?

Riff Raff 09-29-2009 02:14 PM

I am thinking in the sense of Octoberfest beers! After all, offically, it has started! There are some great ones out there.

icehog3 09-29-2009 02:17 PM

Another one I have enjoyed this summer is Black Boss Porter, out of Poland...unfortunately, I can't find any around here any more.

dubnick 09-29-2009 02:28 PM

Left Hand Black Jack Porter

D_A 09-29-2009 02:37 PM

When I was living in WA, I used to drink lots of Black Butte Porter from Deschutes Brewery in Bend, Or. Rogue's Shakespeare Stout and Mocha Porter are pretty good too. They are also out of Oregon. New Belgium Brewery in Colorado makes a good abbey ale as I recall and is available in your area. If you're in Seattle, the brewery at Pikes Place has some good dark beers too.

Poronico 09-29-2009 03:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by icehog3 (Post 573454)
Being in the Northwest I assume you've tried Anchor Steam Porter, Jesse?