Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   All Cigar Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   You always remember your "first"..or do you? (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=53073)

jluck 02-03-2012 12:31 AM

You always remember your "first"..or do you?

I thought this might be fun. I searched and found nothing.

What was the first hand rolled cigar you ever had?
And maybe a few words on why/how.

MINE
Acid Kuba Kuba

I was on a California road trip with a friend (a couple years ago)and wanted something different. I smoked machine made cigars on occasion (alot) but wanted to step it up.The B&M lady pointed my to some "beginner" smokes....:tu

Post away.

icehog3 02-03-2012 12:34 AM

Re: You always remember your "first"..or do you?

Bolivar Royal Corona.

I had been smoking machine mades for well over 10 years, often on a daily basis.

Went to Nassau and there was an LCdH store, as opposed to all the fakes that were being sold in 99.9% of the places on the Island. Decided I should try a Cuban cigar.

It was all over after that. Smoked mostly premium NCs for a year or two, then went to the Dark Side for keeps.

Sauer Grapes 02-03-2012 12:45 AM

TBH... I think it was a RyJ Churchill. I had a RyJ Tubo #1 before that, but I think it was one of the medium filler machine made ones that they had at the time (back in 99).

Skywalker 02-03-2012 12:48 AM

Some Thompson brand crap!

It got me wanting something better!
:D

lenguamor 02-03-2012 01:24 AM

Almost 40 years ago; La Aurora corona with the claro wrapper. At a wedding, the father of the bride gave one to every guy there.

Thing is, I haven't any recollection whatsoever of whose wedding it was...but I remember that cigar.

tx_tuff 02-03-2012 01:25 AM

Montecristo NC. Was at a party and the hsot had a box of them.

longknocker 02-03-2012 04:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skywalker (Post 1548074)
Some Thompson brand crap!