Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   All Cigar Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Flavours you don't like in a cigar? (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=3232)

spincycle 11-03-2008 11:21 AM

Flavours you don't like in a cigar?

I smoked an AF Hemingway something or other (it was part of a massive sampler buy) on Friday. Great burn, lots of smoke, full bodied, spicy and leathery.. leathery.. hrmm..

I'm still a noob and discovering the flavours I enjoy in cigars, but I think I can put leather on the do-not-like list. The entire time I was smoking, I kept having visions of chewing on a 80's biker jacket. Though there were other flavours, leather was predominant, and spoiled the rest of the cigar flavours for me.

So what about you guys? What flavours don't you like?

icehog3 11-03-2008 11:22 AM

Re: Flavours you don't like in a cigar?

Olives....have smoked a couple vintage cigars in Puff-Puff-Passes that had a strong flavor of olives, which I don't care for. I would actually skip those cigars when they came around to me in the P-P-P.

Ace$nyper 11-03-2008 11:23 AM

I'm sorry but the way you summed that up left me in tears!

Not everyone enjoys everything and that's quite alright, I myself do not like Candella or lacking a better word for it and "Olde Worlde" Flavor.

replicant_argent 11-03-2008 11:25 AM

Not having tasted it in particular, yet having heard it described many times...

Ass.

And on a more serious note, astringent or metallic tastes turn me off right away. I am not a fan of the whole "chewing on tinfoil" kind of thing.

skibumdc 11-03-2008 11:25 AM

Tobacco.
I kid I kid.
I don't like it when I get a cigar that taste like smoking an ashtray.
My last Oliva V Torpedo was like that. Left me wondering why people put such high praise to it.

NCRadioMan 11-03-2008 11:27 AM

Soap! :pu

Don Fernando 11-03-2008 11:29 AM

Quote: