Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   Time for a change... (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=76732)

Steve 11-08-2021 09:37 AM

Time for a change...

Do to several factors, I think it's time for a change in my life. I have been working in the same industry for 38 years and it is getting harder every day to get up, put on a smile and do the same crap with the same stress and anxiety over and over. Add the possible upcoming mandates, my time may be getting close.

My issue is where/how to start over. Having done this for so long, I really don't feel like I have any marketable skills, and I DO NOT want to just change companies. I need a new vocation. Yes, I can (and have been working on) getting back into catering, but that will take time and I'll be without insurance.

I have some money saved, but we took a big hit to my reserves when Holly was sick. I have my dad's house that I can fix up and sell, but that would only give me about a year's salary. And I would rather not hit my 401k, I need to wait another couple of years to get it without paying penalties. I also have about 10 years before I can hit social security (it it's still around).

Sorry to ramble, just wondering if anyone else has been at this point in their life and has any advice.

Wharf Rat 11-08-2021 10:08 AM

Re: Time for a change...

I’m not trying to start a partisan argument. But, look into the medical insurance offered through the ACA (Obamacare). It’s not perfect, and it varies from state to state. But, it helps. I chose the cheapest plan which has a high deductible. If you would have trouble with a sudden big bill, you might want to pay more for a lower deductible.

Remember that the amount you pay is based on your projected income for the year - not lasts year’s salary.

Steve 11-08-2021 11:19 AM

Thanks Bob