Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Coffee Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Quick Burr grinder question (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=55853)

pektel 05-22-2012 08:52 AM

Quick Burr grinder question

This unit is on sale today at Woot:

Capresso 580.01 Burr Grinder

http://home.woot.com/?utm_source=Dai...=email#tracked

I see it's not a conical burr grinder. But as of right now, I have NO grinder. When I buy coffee, I have to buy it pre-ground.

Think this is even worth purchasing? Or just keep on with buying preground stuff until I can buy a good conical burr grinder?

Thanks in advance. :tu

357 05-22-2012 09:55 AM

Re: Quick Burr grinder question

I have no experience with grinders. I too would like to get one someday but can't afford the high-end prices.

Here's that model on Amazon, with quite a few reviews:
http://www.amazon.com/Capresso-580-0...7702055&sr=8-1

Of 46 reviews, 11 are 2 star, 18 are 1 star, 5 star being best.

pektel 05-22-2012 10:18 AM

Guess that answers my question lol. Normally I check the interwebz before posting a question. Forgive me, I hadn't yet had any caffeine when posting the thread.

357 05-22-2012 10:29 AM

I wouldn't call Amazon reviews gospel. Some more educated folks around here might have a more valuable opinion. Still, all must be considered.

mosesbotbol 05-22-2012 11:10 AM

Put it this way; if you go through a pound a week of coffee and this grinder lasts just one year, you've only added a $1 a pound to your coffee expense.

Capresso is a decent brand, nothing high end and I would not expect a lifetime of service from this grinder. Cheaper grinders are hard to take apart and motor may not have muscle for the long haul, but it's an improvement over your current method.

This is a good baby step until you are ready for the Mazzer or Rocky.

SvilleKid 05-22-2012 06:00 PM