Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Coffee Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Question regarding drip brewing and how many scoops per cup (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=26703)

Sauer Grapes 12-30-2009 06:48 PM

Question regarding drip brewing and how many scoops per cup

I got a drip brewer for Christmas from the MIL and was wondering what a good starting point is for scoops per cup? I brewed 6 cups of 100% kona using 4 scoops today and it was pretty darn good, but I'm wondering if I'm brewing weaker or stronger than average.

Oh, and the scoop I was using was from my bodum, so I'm also wondering if that is a normal size scoop for my drip or if I need to get a scoop specifically for a drip.

I'm new at this if you can't tell.

Anyway, I LOVED the Kona. Smoothest coffee I've ever had without a hint of bitterness. Odd thing is, looking at smith farms it looks like they aren't really much more $$$ even after shipping. I am assuming smith farms beans are better as well.

What are some other (cheaper) coffees I should try as well since the kona will be a treat (will probably buy a pound every quarter or so)?

tobii3 12-30-2009 07:58 PM

Re: Question regarding drip brewing and how many scoops per cup

1/2 cup.

labels say 1 tablespoon per cup.

8 tablespoons = 1/2 cup

So, use a heaping 1/2 cup.

(for a 10 or 12 cup pot, that is)

Resipsa 12-30-2009 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sauer Grapes (Post 700548)
I got a drip brewer for Christmas from the MIL and was wondering what a good starting point is for scoops per cup? I brewed 6 cups of 100% kona using 4 scoops today and it was pretty darn good, but I'm wondering if I'm brewing weaker or stronger than average.

Oh, and the scoop I was using was from my bodum, so I'm also wondering if that is a normal size scoop for my drip or if I need to get a scoop specifically for a drip.