Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   All Cigar Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Cutter and Lighter recommendations (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=67122)

jpb437 07-08-2014 10:47 PM

Cutter and Lighter recommendations

So I have read mixed things about cutter vs punch. I have also read mixed things about torch vs soft flame vs matches. I figure this is as good a venue as any to get some solid advice. I am just getting into cigars and I think it is time to get some tools of the trade. I am planning on building a coolerdor for storage but that presents a second issue. I normally smoke cigars while out with friends or at a smoking establishment where they have a cutter and matches I can use. If I have some sticks at the house I figure I can have friends over to smoke. With that I will need to pick up a cutter/punch and also a lighter or matches. That's a bit long winded just to say...

What would you recommend for lighting cigars?
What would you recommend for cutting cigars?
Also is it better to buy in person, or is online purchasing fine? I think I would be fine with online.

If you have a specific model or brand let me know and I can go from there.

MarkinAZ 07-08-2014 11:44 PM

Re: Cutter and Lighter recommendations

Hello Joshua and welcome to the Asylum.

Lighting cigars? Before I got into the torch lighter, I use to always use those big fat Diamond Kitchen matches. Nothing wrong with them. Then I became aware of the Blazer PB-207 and have had no problems with it to date. Others here will chime in with their favorites too.

Cutting cigars? For ring gauge 50 - 54, I use a punch. There're the good old reliable cheapo variety going for around $3.99ea, and cut just as well as a Xikar Twist punch that can cost up around $32. I think you get a nice draw with a punch cut.