Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Wine, Beer, and Spirits (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Ardbeg (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=55136)

dubnick 04-18-2012 04:50 PM

Ardbeg

Was suggested by a friend... But nothing further then just "try Ardbeg"

What say you all of "Ardbeg?" Any suggestions or reviews of this particular distillery.

I'm fairly new to Scotch and have mostly been a blend drinker. JW Black as the go to... Gold on special occasions.

Please help me... :confused::confused:

pnoon 04-18-2012 05:17 PM

Re: Ardbeg

Quote:

Originally Posted by dubnick (Post 1619524)
Was suggested by a friend... But nothing further then just "try Ardbeg"

What say you all of "Ardbeg?" Any suggestions or reviews of this particular distillery.

I'm fairly new to Scotch and have mostly been a blend drinker. JW Black as the go to... Gold on special occasions.

Please help me... :confused::confused:

It's a peat monster. If you don't care for that, stay away. I happen to like the stinky peaty single malts, so Ardbeg is a winner for me.
:2

dubnick 04-18-2012 05:40 PM

Thanks for the insight! Much appreciated!

SvilleKid 04-18-2012 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pnoon (Post 1619535)
It's a peat monster. If you don't care for that, stay away. I happen to like the stinky peaty single malts, so Ardbeg is a winner for me.
:2

Peter is 100% on this!! It will knock your socks off if you like smoky, peaty scotch! Jeremy (my son) was all over this. I had a few sips from time to time, but it was not to my liking. I'm more in the Taliskers (especially their Distiller's Edition), or Glenfiddich camp if I drink scotch.

Frodo 04-19-2012 12:06 AM