Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Reviews (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Drying tobacco (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=49250)

Jasonw560 09-15-2011 12:16 PM

Drying tobacco

Would one recommend drying wet tobacco (lots of PG) in the oven or not?

Set it at about 150-200, put it on a wax paper-lined cookie sheet and check it peridically?

pektel 09-15-2011 12:21 PM

Re: Drying tobacco

I personally would not. I would leave the tin open, and maybe put it in a tupperware container with the lid on (not sealed) with a small container of Damp Rid.

I am by no means an expert. Just brainstorming. I wouldn't try it without someone saying it's okay.

Zanaspus 09-15-2011 12:38 PM

By heating it, you are fundamentally changing the tobacco. It may be better, it may be worse. +1 for leaving the top off or putting out a bowl's worth some time before you plan to smoke. Lots of folks recommend a lamp for this purpose, but if it's exceptionally wet, and you're exceptionally impatient, your refrigerator has the lowest RH in your house.

Jasonw560 09-15-2011 12:42 PM

Thanks. Seen some boards saying yes, and some no. The problem with leaving it out is that my wife might start likng the smell.

hotreds 09-15-2011 12:53 PM

no

Sherlockholms 09-15-2011 10:46 PM

I would find a nice place to lay it out To dry it. I Dry my amount that I use for each day, so everyday I set some in a tin with the lid cracked next to my computer fan for a few hours.

Pat1075 11-22-2011 12:08 AM

just put a bowls worth on top of some newspaper for about 15-20 min. and you should be ready to go. Newspaper is such crappy paper it will suck the moisture right out.

CoreyD 11-22-2011 02:40 AM