Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   Day 4 Of Quitting Snuff... (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=57733)

shilala 08-25-2012 07:19 AM

Day 4 Of Quitting Snuff...

I've been chewing a can or 2 a day for 33 years, and been chewing tobacco for a good 35 or 36.
Today will be a record. I have NEVER been without snuff for 4 days in the last 30+ years.
It is driving me out of my freakin mind, and I'm starting to get a bit snappish. It's taken a ton of prayer to get this far, I'm sure it'll take a whole lot more before it's done.

I'm going to go get some of that fake snuff today and I'm also going to get some jerky snuff. Oddly, the nicotine dropoff hasn't really bothered me. I've been nursing the same PL panatella for the last few days, I spark it up when I'm ready to crack. There's way more than half left.

If you guys have any tips from when you suffered through this, I could sure use them. :)

dwoodward 08-25-2012 07:26 AM

Re: Day 4 Of Quitting Snuff...

Good job Scott! Drop the snuff.

A good support group behind you would be the best way and easiest way to quit. And incase you didn't notice, CA is a good place for that!

68TriShield 08-25-2012 07:27 AM

What makes you say it's not nicotine withdraw?
If it were me I'd try some Nicorette gum or whatever it's called.

smitty81 08-25-2012 07:33 AM

I could drop cigars, cigarettes, and booze whenever................

Chew on the other hand was the hardest think I ever gave up.

I used to just leave my ID in the car if I was going in the gas station or where ever, I was young enough that they still carded me.

It was really hard to just quit cold turkey, I had to slowly ween myself off.

After a while, I was able to go about 3 weeks or so without. I tried it after those 3 weeks and I got sicker than a dog.

That was the end for me.