Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   All Cigar Discussion (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   New to the Cigar Scene (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=74823)

DOL_Pat 02-14-2019 04:53 PM

New to the Cigar Scene

Hello everyone!

I have owned and (sometimes poorly) maintained a humidor that was gifted to me during a deployment to Afghanistan in 2014. Since that time I have been a very casual cigar smoker who has always enjoyed the activity but never gotten involved with the community in any sort of in depth way. I just recently retired from the military in December of last year and now want to devote more of my new found free time to learning about and becoming a more active member of this community and and looking for advice from any of the aficionados out there that can help guide me.

Full disclosure I am also studying cigar culture as part of competing my undergraduate degree so I will also use my education to help write research papers about this journey that I am embarking on.

My humidor currently consists of several Camacho Powebands, a Romeo and Julieta 1875 Reserve, A Diesel whiskey row bourbon aged. I would like to diversify from here as well as learn more about the best ways to upkeep and maintain a humidor. Any advice would be very welcome. Thanks everyone!

DOL,

Pat

markem 02-14-2019 06:23 PM

Re: New to the Cigar Scene

Welcome to the asylum! Best wishes on your journey of discovery.

Chainsaw13 02-14-2019 06:32 PM

Welcome and thanks for your service :salute:

Porch Dweller 02-14-2019 09:40 PM

Thanks for your service and welcome to the hobby!

TXRebel 02-14-2019 11:04 PM

:we to The Asylum!

gomeitsmybday 02-15-2019 04:26 AM

Welcome and thank you for you service! Definitely take the time to read a lot of the stickies & faqs around here, they helped me immensely once I decided to get serious about my cigar hobby, and of course am always learning more!