Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum

Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/index.php)
-   Good Eats (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Calling CA's Low & Slow Experts (http://www.cigarasylum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=45410)

massphatness 05-09-2011 07:20 AM

Calling CA's Low & Slow Experts

School me, if you will, on my options for buying my first ever smoker.

I've done some reading and internet research and am leaning toward the Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker, probably the 22.5-inch version.

I'm looking for some validation (or alternatives) given that I am very new to this and am not looking to become a professional like Smokin' Gator. I want a smoker I can use 5-10 times a year that doesn't require a degree in physics to operate.

Any and all suggestions based on your experiences are most appreciated.

:tu

pnoon 05-09-2011 07:31 AM

Re: Calling CA's Low & Slow Experts

I'm no expert but I love the simplicity of the Traeger (or any pellet grill/smoker). But from what I hear, the WSM is a winner, too.
:2
Posted via Mobile Device

replicant_argent 05-09-2011 07:57 AM

You might want to look at a Bradley. I don't have one, but I do lust for one, and those that use them seem to be very content. A different breed, but about the same cost, and as far as simplicity and ease? Right in the ballpark.

My McGyver approach to most things will probably suffice for me in the long run, however. I am also certainly no expert

Steve 05-09-2011 08:19 AM

The Webber is a great little unit. It holds temperature pretty well and has fair capacity for someone that just wants to cook for togethers.

It really comes down to how much input/work you want to put into it. A Treager all you do is put the meat in, load up the pucks, set the temp and go. The Webber you will have to watch a little more and probably reload the charcoal pan at least once if you are doing a porkbutt or a brisket.

nofeardiver 05-09-2011 08:26 AM