PDA

View Full Version : Montecristo #2 - fake? :(

nydreamery
07-07-2016, 05:17 PM
Hi everyone....So I've been struggling with something for over a week now and I wanted some advice. I bought a couple of Montecristo #2's (supposedly Cuban), the band looks legit but the cigar itself looks to be of poor quality. I've never bought a cigar from this smoke shop, I only get my hookah flavors from him but he told me he got a box of #2 and I'm a sucker for Monte's so I bought a couple. I've showed it to a couple of other cigar aficionados and they too are torn between real or fake.

Is there any way to really tell? :confused:

pnoon
07-07-2016, 05:25 PM
I wouldn't buy CCs from a B&M in the US unless I knew the seller really well and trusted their sources.

Hard to tell from the pics. One thing I did notice is that the wrappers look a bit rough. Which really doesn't mean much.
:2

The Poet
07-07-2016, 05:30 PM
I'm no expert, but they do look a bit funky for a real Monte. I also question why any legitimate US smoke shop would be selling Cubans. Yeah, I know it happens, but it's pretty dodgy behavior which raises up warning flags for me.

icehog3
07-07-2016, 06:16 PM
Those wrappers look 101% fake to me. :2

Mr.Maduro
07-07-2016, 06:56 PM
Welcome to CA.

borndead1
07-07-2016, 07:09 PM
The wrappers look awful.

I agree with what pnoon said.

markem
07-07-2016, 07:23 PM
The wrappers and the roll are off, at least to me. Also, unless I am remembering, those bands have been gone from the No 2s for a while, so maybe ask the vendor the year.

jrw
07-07-2016, 07:46 PM