PDA

View Full Version : Cigars that are already aged and ready to smoke

Byaah
09-14-2014, 11:36 PM
As the title says, as I am just starting, I have been told a lot of cigars need a bit more time past just resting once I have purchased them, so...

What I am trying to find are cigars (after a small rest) that are ready to be smoked, I may be asking this question incorrect but as I have not amassed an awesome collection and WANT to still smoke, what would be my go to cigars that I can have and not wonder if I burned them to early?

I still plan on getting all types of cigars no matter what but I would like to start allowing the ones that need to sit, the time to do w/e it is they do.

jpb437
09-14-2014, 11:58 PM
I am rather new to smoking cigars as well but here's what I have been told. You can't smoke a cigar too early although stronger cigars may mellow and become more complex with time. Mild cigars may benefit from a short rest but multiple years of rest may leave them bland. All that is just hearsay from an long time smoker so if it is wrong someone please correct me.

ApexAZ
09-15-2014, 12:19 AM
I have deliberately aged a few boxes of cigars for about a year, but everything else I smoke it right away. If a NC doesn't taste good to me shortly after I buy it then I probably won't smoke too many of that brand and vitola. Most NC are produced to be enjoyed by the time they reach you anyhow.

longknocker
09-15-2014, 04:14 AM
Brandon: I Try To Let My Cigars I Purchase Or Receive In A Trade "Rest" For 3 Months In My Humidor Or Coolidor At My Chosen RH & Temperature. This Has Worked Well For Me Over The Years. Some Sticks, Like The Fuente Opus X, Seem To Smoke Much Better After 5 Years Of Rest, IMO. Some NC's Lose A Lot Of Their Flavor After 1 Year. Experiment Yourself To Find "Your" Ideal "Resting Time".:tu:)

dave
09-15-2014, 10:53 AM