PDA

View Full Version : Last cigar is a fail

Bushman
12-21-2012, 06:34 PM
I'm a newb here so I'll give you a little back story.
Smoked cigarettes for 20 years. Gave it up.
Went to visit bro down in FL. Took me to a cigar shop in the mall.
Walked into a giant humidor and was assaulted by the most wonderful smells.
Colorful bands adorned every wrapper. The selection was limitless.
I asked the moron behind the counter what he recommended.
"Your choice mon, I don't smoke 'em they stink".
Even I couldn't believe that a cigar shop would hire a chap like this.
Luckily my bro was there and he introduced me to my first ever cigar.
It was a Cohiba. I don't remember what kind or size or ring. Just the electric blue label staring at me as I lit it sitting on a lawn chair in his pool cabana.

I tried to inhale. Choked.

It wasn't too long and I figured it out. Rolling, tasting, licking my lips. Yeah sounds weird but you know.

I quit cigarettes soon after. Went awhile without smoking anything but I couldn't get the site of that humidor and that taste out of my head.

Hinted around to wife about a Fathers day sample in the newspaper adds.
She ordered it. I succumbed to a lifetime of cigar slavery.

So now you have the back story. Today I opened my bad ass Ghurka, travel humidor. A giant, hunters orange conglomerate of a trunk. Pulled back the egg waffle padding only to discover that this was it. My last cigar. Not ever, just the last one in my possesion. ( cigar was not Ghurka)

I cradled it gently in my hands and carried it to the garage. Outside the wind was howling around 40 mph and the snow was piling up against the garage door.