PDA

View Full Version : Casillas Robusto Maduro

greytowhite
10-10-2012, 03:31 PM
Hello and welcome to Grey Smoke Reviews. I am a veteran cigar smoker, nearly a decade now and I still find cigars that pleasantly surprise me. I will try to keep this blog focused as much as possible on boutique cigar makers and house brands.

Yesterday I had the chance to sit down with Henry and the fellows at Casillas Cigars. The cigars used be to rolled in the store but Henry switched to a factory in Nicaragua about three years ago. All of the cigars are Nicaraguan puros which means 100% of the blend is sourced in that country. I was able to wheedle out of Henry that the tobacco is 3 years old for all of his cigars but he would not reveal which factory he is using. The shop is on 16th Street between T and U in Sacramento. Forgive my horrible camera phone pictures, I shake too much for a decent shot most of the time. Believe it or not these are the better pictures I took for this review.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Vzp2PNvnjR0/UHW4VwnkG8I/AAAAAAAAAC0/dR8yd7xRJxc/s320/01.jpg

Henry is the don of the shop but he and the guys affectionately call each other "bish" which almost sounds like ***** but not quite. He gets no respect.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-J_LGjhZPVuA/UHW4ZnFwC7I/AAAAAAAAAC8/02jKuLuF4-U/s1600/02.jpg

The humidor is a nice little room to the right of the entry that dominates most of the shop space. Here are the cigars we all love.

Here is the rest of the shop in case you were curious. The fellow behind the counter in the second picture is Rich. A rather pleasant and funny fellow that helps Henry out around the shop. There are some accessories for sale as well as a water cooler. The seating can seem a little disjointed unless you're in the area behind the humidor but the camaraderie in the store is readily apparent. The crowd when I was smoking was mainly blue-collar Asian-Americans. Definitely a gear change from the lounges I'm used to in Arizona.