PDA

View Full Version : Sunday Off

Volusianator
05-06-2012, 03:50 PM
I'm a woodworker.

A couple years ago the company I worked for, Palmer Johnson Yachts went under, to pay the bills, I took a job at Time Warner Cable in the call center, making half of what I did in the past. My shift was 1:30-10:30 Sun - Thu, the emphasis on Sunday. IMHO, Sundays are for church, spending time in your jammies, watching golf, taking naps and spending time at home with your family. For the last year and a half I've not been able to do that as I had to leave for work at 12:30pm.

This past week I started a new job, back in woodworking at a place called Cages By Design. We make cages for reptiles, small animals, birds and aquariums. I'm working with wood again. This small company is as flexible as I've ever seen when it comes to your schedule, you wanna work:
5 eight hour days...fine
4 tens...fine
you want to eat your lunch at your bench while you work, fine, then leave a half hour early
you wanna just snack at your bench and not take break, fine, then just work 37.5 hours and we'll pay you for 40
Having a bad day and want to get away for a bit, cool, punch out and go fishing in the pond on property