PDA

View Full Version : I might need to start working soon...

mkarnold1
03-20-2012, 08:49 AM
I have an interesting situation going on here. It's been a while since I graduated from nursing school and I've been applying for job after job at the Mayo Clinic/ St. Mary's Hospital, so I recently sent my resume over to a local nursing home and set up an interview for tomorrow. This morning I get a call from Mayo HR to set up an interview for the 29th on an ortho floor. Exciting news, to be sure, but what do I say to the nursing home? I'm trying to think of how to tactfully turn down a job while at the same time appearing to be interested.

Commander Quan
03-20-2012, 08:54 AM
Go to your interview tomorrow, and go to the interview on the 29th if you get the Mayo Clinic Job turn down the nursing home job. I doubt that anyone would blame you for taking the Mayo clinic over the nursing home if you get the chance,but in the mean time it's good to have a back up.

LostAbbott
03-20-2012, 08:55 AM
Depending on your states laws you do not need to turn down the nursing home. It sounds like Mayo is not a done deal so go after both like you really want them. After you get an offer take your time and even play them off each other to see who will pay more. The just turn down the one you don't want. There is nothing wrong with rejecting a job offer. It is in fact very nice to be in a position of power like that. Also you can use the nursing home interview as a practice and get better at interviewing, as I can almost gurentee you will have to do it aflgain in the future. Good luck.
Posted via Mobile Device

smitty81
03-20-2012, 08:57 AM
Don't turn it down until you know you got the job at the Mayo. The nursing home might not tell you on the spot that you have the job.

If it were me, I'd take the job at the nursing home if they offer it to you because you might not get the job at the mayo.