PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a humidor full

Brenner
01-15-2012, 02:10 PM
Hey everyone,
Newbie here. Just wanted to post a question for the seasoned cigar aficionados. I just recently received couple boxes of cigars for my birthday and had to immediately buy a humidor that I found on Craigslist to store them in. I seasoned the humidor and everything before storing the cigars.

My concern is that the boxes of cigars I received may not have had proper humidity for maybe over a month since they were brought from overseas. On top of that, I found out that after storing them in the humidor and finally replacing the hygrometer with a digi one, that they were even more subjected to improper humidity for a while. I'm worried that my cigars are now dried out especially the ones not in tubes. I've done the pinch test, they seem ok, but just looking at them, they look a little dry. I attached a picture, would you be able to tell me if they look dry or not? Or do they look fine and Im too paranoid as a newbie?

http://brenners.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/img00621-20120115-1603.jpg?w=450

Help!

Thank you.
-Brenner

Steelerfanatic
01-15-2012, 03:22 PM
The pic is hard to tell. If you did the squeeze test then you should be fine. Smoke one and find out! MIght want to invest in a larger cooler and some beads for future purchases.

Enjoy!

MurphysLaw
01-15-2012, 03:38 PM
You should be fine, cigars are more resilient than most people think, give them a couple weeks at a constant RH and you should be good to go.

Emjaysmash
01-15-2012, 03:43 PM
Welcome to Cigar Asylum! If you haven't yet, post a newbie intro post over in the New Inmates section of the forum, and tell us a little about yourself!

You cigars may or may not be on the dry side, it is hard to tell. Do they burn quicker than normal and often over heat? This usually is a sign of low humidity.