PDA

View Full Version : Scotch Q&A

kayaker
11-24-2008, 07:08 PM
Just thought I would start a thread where people can ask and answer questions and this great beverage, and share our knowledge.

I am by no means an expert, but I have learned a couple of things in the last couple of years and I like sharing my interest with others.

Please feel free to ask anything you want to know. Can't promise I will be able to answer, but hopefully someone else will chime in.

Please feel free to answer any questions, share you knowledge and experiences.

Let's have some fun (and a dram or two).:al:al:D

kayaker
11-24-2008, 07:15 PM
Thought I would start by giving you my definition/explanation about SMSW. I do it backwards:

Whisky = fermented grain (corn, rye, barley…) which is then distilled, usually aged in oak barrels (eg. rye, malt, bourbon).

Scotch = Whisky from Scotland only, has to be aged 3 years min., and must be distilled, aged, bottled in Scotland.

Malt = barley that has been soaked and allowed to germinate to maximize sugars, then dried, crushed and made into beer, which is then distilled.

Single = whisky that comes from one distillery only.

So SMSW is a Scotch whisky made from malted barley and from a single distillery.

Is that as clear as mud?:D

mikeyj23
11-24-2008, 07:15 PM
Is a dram a specified amount, just "a pour" or both? I know a "shot" can be 1.5oz, or just a term. What's a dram?
Posted via Mobile Device

kayaker
11-24-2008, 07:23 PM
Is a dram a specified amount, just "a pour" or both? I know a "shot" can be 1.5oz, or just a term. What's a dram?
Posted via Mobile Device

To my knowledge there is no specific amount. You can have a wee dram, or a big one. I guess it just refers to a serving of indeterminate volume.

mrreindeer
11-24-2008, 07:35 PM
I am by no means an expert....

You sure about that Ian? You, Scott & a handful of others have certainly been a great help for me as I head headfirst down the scotch slope.

This is a great idea! :tu

Cigary