PDA

View Full Version : building a coolidor

gray8188
08-09-2011, 09:01 PM
Well I'm running out of space in my humidor and I'm figuring the cheapest route would be to build a coolidor. I don't want it to be huge. But do I need to tape cigar box panels to the sides to absorb humidity? Or I would like to be able to just put the cigars in cigar boxes and maybe put a shelf on top for any loose singles. Would that be okay? And as far as a humidification device goes can I use maybe one or 2 of these? http://www.tampahumidor.com/accessories/cigar-mechanic-250.php.
Thanks for the help, I'm still a bit of a newb but I'm trying to learn as much as I can.

Drez
08-09-2011, 09:04 PM
Coolers are very simple to set up.

1. Buy coole
2. Air out cooler for a couple days
3. Buy beads (or other humidification device)
4. Put beads in cooler
5. Add boxes and a hygro
6. Sit back and relax

Drez
08-09-2011, 09:07 PM
Also the humidifier you posted would work but depending on the size of the cooler you will need multiple.

Look into heartfelt beads.

Tyler
08-09-2011, 09:08 PM
Taping cigar box panels to the sides is not necessary but some do it. I just have the cigar boxes in the cooler and then a small plastic tub on top of those that I keep singles in.

For humidification I go with Heartfelt Industries beads. I use a 1/2 pound of 65% beads in my 48QT cooler. The cooler is a 48QT Coleman that I picked up for $16 from the local Academy Sports and Outdoors.

Half pound of beads is at the bottom of the page. $18 plus shipping. You might want to get a small mesh bag to put the beads in. You just spray the beads till they are around 60% clear and then put them in and you are done. This way the whole setup is around $40. You can also get a hygrometer if you wish.

http://www.heartfeltindustries.com/products.asp?cat=65%25+Rh+Humidity+Beads

They have a tool that tells you how many beads you will need for your space.

http://www.heartfeltindustries.com/calculator.asp