PDA

View Full Version : Good deal?

oooo35980
03-17-2011, 12:06 PM
So the guy where I buy my cigars has a few boxes of La Gloria Cubanas that he says not many people can get. Apparently they were rolled 3 years ago and were the last batch that the company founder had anything to do with before General Cigar told him to go away. The box says they were made in Miami by Ernesto Perez-Carrillo. The band just says "La Gloria Cubanas".

I told him to hold a box for me and I'd smoke one and do some research. The cigar is hands down the best I've had, but I'm also very new to cigar smoking so that might not be saying alot, and I'm not sure if I'm ready to drop 200 bucks on a box of cigars just yet, with so many cigars in easy reach that I've yet to try.

As for the research... I can find alot of history on La Gloria Cubana, but nothing about these specific cigars. I was hoping someone here could tell me if this is something I should jump at or not.

dannysguitar
03-17-2011, 12:13 PM
Sounds like the Artesanos de Miami. Check this out.

http://www.cigarsinternational.com/prodDisp.asp?item=CS-LGB&cat=3

oooo35980
03-17-2011, 12:15 PM
The cigar looks similar, but the box I'm thinking of buying is bright yellow and on the front it says something to the effect of "made in Miami by Ernesto Perez-Carillo"

Found a picture of the exact box online, ok so it isn't bright yellow I guess lol

shilala
03-17-2011, 12:22 PM
I was gonna say, "regardless, it's 100 bucks too much for LGC's", but I have no idea what your cigar taxes are like over there.
If you really like them, offer him $150 and see what shakes. I think that'd be fair, even if it's still too much. As long as you like them, ya know?
As far as the provenance story goes, I wouldn't even take that into consideration for a second. It may or may not be true, but regardless, it has little or no bearing on the value of the cigar.