PDA

View Full Version : rookie with a draw question

G22inSC
03-07-2011, 08:44 PM
I am embarrassed to ask this question; however, I figure I am just beginning to learn the world of cigars so here goes. I smoked a Padron 3000 the other day that was great (in my opinion). The B&M had labelled the cigar as mild/med but I think it was more on the med side. Great taste and a light "puff" every now and then would provide generous smoke. Now for my question. I just finished smoking a Gurkha Symphony that I just wanted to be over by the end. The taste was fine, but the draw was killing me. I would literally have to try to suck the cigar down my throat every 20-30 seconds to keep it going with little smoke at all. I honestly feel like my tongue/mouth are sore from drawing so hard.

The cigar's feel seemed fine to me except that it was a little hard right near the head. I assume that is the issue. In my rookie opinion, it was not to dry or wet. Is this what they mean about being overly "tight" or is something else going on? How do you alleviate this in the future? Thanks and sorry for the probably obvious pitiful question.

VirtualSmitty
03-07-2011, 08:50 PM
I just finished smoking a Gurkha Symphony that I just wanted to be over by the end.

That's actually the standard reaction to smoking any Gurkha product, don't worry :tu

Bill86
03-07-2011, 08:50 PM
1. Don't guy Gurkha (that's for you Tom :tu, and the rest of the board)
2. In my experiences chopping the cap end about 1-1.5 inches off will fix the problem, or at least make it tolerable.

NCRadioMan
03-07-2011, 08:51 PM
Sounds like it was plugged. You get those every once in a while since it's a handmade product they all won't be perfect. Padron comes very close. :D

When I get a plugged cigar, I pitch it and grab another.

Always test the draw before lighting. If it's too tight, put it back in the humidor and get another cigar. Time can open it up.

MurphysLaw
03-07-2011, 08:51 PM