PDA

View Full Version : Nicotine Buzzzzzz

OHRD
02-16-2011, 01:17 PM
Looking for some techniques/experiences for avoiding/removing the dreaded nicotine buzz.

I've heard eat sugar immediately, or even before...but what are some good extra-sugary things to eat? Peppermints, skittles, other candies?

Other ideas?

I've been smoking cigars for probably 15 years, but still can't build up a tolerance; I love the flavor of fuller bodied cigars, but find myself stuck in the low-medium range.

Krish the Fish
02-16-2011, 01:20 PM
Eating carbs beforehand used to do the trick for me. There's a chipotle right beside my B&M, so I would always get a burrito before a smoke, and it used to do the trick.

However, I'm almost 3 years in (1 year since the big plunge though), and I can't get a buzz off anything anymore. I could go all day without eating and get nothing from a LFD DL-700 or a Camacho Triple Maduro. :(

Emjaysmash
02-16-2011, 01:23 PM
Big meal beforehand helps.

Drinking something like Coke while smoking helps. I've also heard chocolate works well.

NCRadioMan
02-16-2011, 01:28 PM
What you are feeling are symptoms of low blood-sugar. So, sugar is the cure for nicotine sickness. As said, drink a sugary drink while smoking. Have a full stomach. Go slow. It might be a good idea to keep some packets of sugar with you. As soon as you start to feel it, down one of the packets to help bring your blood-sugar back up. Pretty much anything with sugar in it.

OHRD
02-16-2011, 01:28 PM
Forgot to mention this - I weigh 130 pounds soaking wet!

Bill86
02-16-2011, 01:32 PM
I hate the horrible dreaded nicotine buzz too. I smoked cigarettes for 5 years and for some reason cigars will occasionally still get me. I usually eat before hand unless I know it's a more mild cigar. I'm not exactly sure if or how much weight plays into it. I'm not really a fan of those super full strength cigars anyways. I like a medium-full.

Emjaysmash
02-16-2011, 01:41 PM