PDA

View Full Version : Cooler problem

Cornrow_Wallis
02-04-2011, 06:29 PM
I've got a 60 qt. igloo cooler that I've been putting cigars in for a couple months and just recently smoked a couple cigars out of it. A Nub habano that someone gave me, a DPG cuban classic, and a 5 vegas miami.

They all tasted exactly the same. A disgusting stale, sour taste is how I could best describe it. No burn problems. It just started happening with these last three and I don't want to smoke anymore until I get it sorted out. All of the cigars are also hard as a rock. I went and bought a couple smokes from a B&M to compare and they were fine.

I have two salt tested hygrometers in there and they both read 64%. I tested them separately. Temp is about 65*F. I just bought some beads that I put in today to see if that helps, although I don't know how it would.

I have no idea whats wrong. Anyone have any ideas?

Ranger_B
02-04-2011, 06:35 PM
What kind of Hygrometer? Digital or analog? Was it a new cooler? Where is your cooler stored. Is it near your heater vents? How often are you circulating the air in the cooler? What are you using for humidification before the beads you just ordered?

enlightenedcigar
02-04-2011, 06:38 PM
Try washing your cooler out if you haven't yet.

Cornrow_Wallis
02-04-2011, 06:43 PM
What kind of Hygrometer? Digital or analog? Was it a new cooler? Where is your cooler stored. Is it near your heater vents? How often are you circulating the air in the cooler? What are you using for humidification before the beads you just ordered?
I have a digital and analog in there. It was a new cooler, I washed it out before I used it. Heater hasn't been on since I got the cooler. As far as air circulation, I opened it a couple times a week to check temp/humidity. Nothing besides that. I was using the plastic sponge devices that come with humidors.

Try washing your cooler out if you haven't yet.
I washed it before I started using it, but I'll wash it again tomorrow.

neoflex