PDA

View Full Version : someone had a great christmas at my expense

Ahbroody
01-02-2011, 11:29 AM
The other day I got a call from WellsFargo Fraud division about some questionable purchases. Someone was buying stuff in the eastbay and sf with my debit card. Only I had my card in the wallet. Somehow they made a copy of my card. They ran up roughly 1600 in purchases at gas stations niketown, kfc, and shoe stores. Guess they bought their demon spawn some toys as well. Still working with the bank, but hoping to get all the money back. We werent watching our account because we had a fair amount of extra money this month.

My wife said this happened to a co worker after they ate at a restaurant and an employee swiped the card through a machine of some kind. They caught the guy. What pisses me off is how nobody checked id apparently on the purchases. This is my first time with something like this I am still learning how this could have occurred. What a nightmare. I wisu this was my cc and not debit card, makes life more difficult. Seems purchases are still trickling in.

Aaaaaaaaaargh focking *$&&$%&

Darrell
01-02-2011, 11:34 AM
:td

Sorry to hear it, Mike.

BigCat
01-02-2011, 11:34 AM
I had this happen this summer with a credit card. They made a copy of it. And the purchases were at shoe stores. I don't know what it is about thiefs and athletic gear, but they seem to love it. I was issued a new card and the charges were reversed, so no big deal for me. I hope you find as easy of a resolution on your end.

Ogre
01-02-2011, 11:39 AM
Good luck brother. Hope it all works out in your favor.

bobarian
01-02-2011, 11:41 AM
Sorry to hear this Mike. Hope everything works out with the bank.

blugill
01-02-2011, 11:42 AM
A friend has loaned me his debit card and pin, on the back of the card it specifically say to ASK FOR ID!.

But with today's machines the teller doesn't even handle the card anymore or rarely.