PDA

View Full Version : How i got into Cigars

NYCpuffer
11-19-2010, 08:28 PM
I first got into cigars when i was about 22 years old and i was a commodities broker/trader on the trading floor in NYC. I was a coffee broker/trader and my boss and i use to go in the barclay rex shop in the world financial center in the financial district at like 1pm after the market would close...For some reason he knew about Acid Blondies.. We use to smoke one after work before we went to the bar just because it was small and quick to smoke.

As a beginner i loved them because of the initial taste they had. I remember a night we went to sparks steakhouse and spent over 2 grand on food and booze and smoked some acids after it all...knowing what i know now i would never let a customer follow up a meal with an acid.

It was my wedding that brought me back into cigars....I bought all my groomsmen humidors and cigars...Now Im HOOOKED

jmsremax
11-19-2010, 08:35 PM
I started when I was 18 (I won't lie, I've had a swisher sweet or two) and about a few years back I started to get into it when I was in the Bahamas on spring break (mid twenties now).

Do you still happen to trade? I would love to chat about it! I live/work in Boston and we implement trades for our funds.....I work specifically with our equity funds. :tu

LostAbbott
11-19-2010, 08:40 PM
Nice! my dad is a broker working for wedbush morgan in Portland, OR.

I got into cigars this spring when my daughter was born and people started giving them to me. My first was an it's a girl fuente.

ckay
11-19-2010, 09:01 PM
I got into cigars heavily a couple of years ago. The Managing Partner of my firm took my managing associate and I to Grand Havana Room. The occasion was a milestone in assets under management. I received an invite to a night out. Old Homestead or GHR. I chose Old Homestead this time around...let's not kid ourselves, we'll end up at GHR when I pull a couple of Padrons out of my jacket pocket.

Mr.Erskine
11-19-2010, 09:15 PM