PDA

View Full Version : Most important "tip" you got when you started

GWags
11-08-2008, 09:31 PM
As a newbie I'm constantly picking up things to improve my smoking experience. In no particular order these come to mind:

toasting as apposed to lighting like a cigarette like I used to
slowwww down (this has helped me the most so far)
snorkling - I pick up so many more aspects to the stick
purge it if gets nasty

and tonight I learned it's best NOT to remove the band after I have an inch of ash hangin' - I'm a messy smoker!

Scottw
11-08-2008, 09:36 PM
Best tip I can offer is to make sure to savor not only the cigar, but how many great things and great people you can learn about through this great hobby.

petewho
11-08-2008, 09:38 PM
The best tips I've been given so far:

- Cut & test the draw. If it's tight, back in the humi and grab a different stick (or drybox it).
- Cooler, 65% beads, Palio, Blazer (in roughly that order)
- Don't get started on the cbid slope :bh
- Herf often
- Smoke what ya like, and like what ya smoke

SmokinCozy
11-08-2008, 09:40 PM
not to get stuck on any certain stick

montecristo#2
11-08-2008, 09:43 PM
I have been smoking for about two years now and learned something new just last week.

When you are reading a magazine while smoking outside, make sure you are holding both sides of the magazine. If not, a nice gust of wind can create a really messy situation. :( :r

kayaker
11-08-2008, 09:44 PM
My first big tip was to stop smoking the cigar when it no longer tasted any good. We're paying for the experience so why ruin it by continuing to smoke when it sucks?

My second big tip was on how to light a cigar properly. The biggest part of that being lighting without drawing on it the same time. This little tip worked well with the first tip because I immediately could enjoy a cigar for longer.

Great thread.:ss

NCRadioMan
Find the largest humidor you will think you will need, then go one size bigger!

acruce
Don't inhale.

jaycarla