PDA

View Full Version : Any Experienced Hikers Here?

BlackDog
09-03-2010, 07:53 AM
A friend and I are making reservations to do a rim-to-rim hike of the Grand Canyon this time next year. I've never done a "serious" hike before. Any good resources you can point me to for boots and a pack? I want to learn more about them first before I walk into a store to buy stuff. Any other advice will be welcome. :tu

Steve
09-03-2010, 08:02 AM
I have had a LOT of hiking boots, but my all time favorites for comfort and durability are Merrel Wilderness' (http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/M-F-F-S-BO/7178M/0/Men/Footwear/Filters/Style/Boots/Mens/Wilderness). They are leather with a vibram soul, have never let me slip and never had a blister. They do not look as "sporty" as others and they may wiegh a tab more, but they have saved my bad ankles several time.

I would definately suggest that whatever boots you get, break them in REAL well WELL BEFORE your trip! Also, there are a lot of people in stores that have NO IDEA how to fit your feet with hiking boots!

As for a pack, I have an Arctryx pack that I love. I'll have to look around for which one it is. Very comfortable.

ninjavanish
09-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Rim-to-Rim is certainly a serious hike... especially in September.

To be honest... check out Backpacker.com

They always do a gear guide every year and should be a good resource to learn about gear and training... etc.

I have always found that a good outdoors store (I would stay clear of the large chains) have employees who are very experienced outdoorsmen and women with plenty of knowledge that offer good advice.

Never buy a backpack until you have actually tried it on personally. Most good outdoors stores can actually customize a backpack solution for you based on the size of your torso/waist etc. That's a reason to find yourself a good store to actually go into. On Backpacks... my advice is... the more ways to adjust the ride... the better.