PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my humidor??

Chingo
03-16-2010, 10:31 AM
Hi all, I'm having a problem with my humidor and I'm at my wits end trying to figure out what's wrong.

I bought a small desktop humidor from another BOTL on here a few months ago. It's small, but very nice and solid, not one of those cheap boxes. I noticed immediately that it wouldn't stay humid. Heartfelt beads, Boveda packs, sometimes both wouldn't raise the humidity. I think I had an 82% RH pack in there once and the highest it will read is 65% at most. I did the dollar bill check for leaks, recalibrated my digital hygro and still no luck.

Yesterday I decided to re-season it. Wiped it down, left a moist sponge and a new 72% pack inside. 18 hours later I took a peek inside and it's only reading 65%.

What's going on? Will continuing the seasoning process help at all? Or is something else wrong? Thanks.

NeverEnoughStick
03-16-2010, 10:41 AM
Im no pro but I may be able to help. I've read that using a super fine sandpaper and running it around the inside of the humidor, blowing out all of the dust, and then reseasoning it may help. Im hoping those fellow BOTL that are woodworkers may be able to offer alternatives.

Hope this helps!

acarr
03-16-2010, 10:56 AM
If could be the device that you are testing the humidity with.

borndead1
03-16-2010, 11:04 AM
65% is fine. Don't sweat it, but if it's bugging you, you could try calibrating your hygrometer. Search "calibrate hygrometer".

:tu

Chingo
03-16-2010, 11:11 AM
This is at 65% while seasoning though, with a soaking wet paper towel inside. Under normal conditions with my 72% beads it would barely read 60%.

I'm certain it's not the hygro has I've recalibrated it and it's reading fine now that I moved my sticks to a tupperdor.

jmsremax
03-16-2010, 11:16 AM
This is at 65% while seasoning though, with a soaking wet paper towel inside. Under normal conditions with my 72% beads it would barely read 60%.